Hobart Waterfront

LoadingAdd to itinerary

The entrance to the Derwent River Estuary was the perfect landing place for the city’s founder, Lieutenant-Governor David Collins in 1804. The deep-water port would become a central part of Hobart’s maritime history and over time develop into the bustling, vibrant waterfront precinct that locals and visitors today enjoy so much.

The stories of Hobart’s origins can all be traced in this part of town, with many of the oldest buildings to be found around the waterfront precinct. Much can be discovered at the area’s historic sites and museums such as Kelly’s Steps, Customs House, the Maritime Museum and the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery.

The elegant Georgian sandstone warehouses at Salamanca Place have been converted into creative spaces for artists, craftspeople, designers and galleries. Salamanca offers a pleasant backdrop to the nearby dockyards and piers surrounding Sullivan’s Cove and the waterfront bursts with activity every Saturday with the internationally acclaimed Salamanca Market.

Across the road at Constitution Dock, fishing boats and luxury yachts bob gently together offering a postcard setting for wining and dining at award-winning restaurants and freshly docked fish punts. Constitution Dock takes its place on the world stage every December as the finish line for the gruelling Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race. This event is more than adequately supported by the week-long gourmet food event Taste of Tasmania.

The glamorous floating barge at Brooke Street Pier offers great local products and fine dining, but its primary purpose is as Hobart’s main passenger ferry terminal. Ferry rides and river cruises from here take in some of Tasmania’s hottest attractions including the multimillion-dollar Museum of Old and New Art (MONA) on the grounds of the Moorilla Estate Winery, the Port Arthur Historic Site and some lovely bays, inlets and villages along the Derwent River Estuary.

Tasmania_Welcome to_Hobart waterfront

Tasmania Directory

Part of the Welcome-To Luxury Series
Australia – VIC • NSW/ACT • QLD • TAS • WA • SA • NT • New Zealand • South Africa • Dubai • Abu Dhabi


Lost your password?